My Writing Process

My sweet warrior mama friend Kristin of Little Mama Jama asked me to share about my writing process.

1. What am I working on?  I am working on two pieces to submit to two other blogs Stigmama and a series called Stigma Fighters running on Old School New School Mom.  I am also in the process of writing up reviews of two books I have read.  I also have several ideas in my head to begin submitting to other sites.  If Listen To Your Mother and my partner in crime, Alexandra, have taught me anything, it is that opportunities come to those who put in the work.  How can your work be noticed if you do not take a chance and submit it?

2.  How does my work differ from others in my genre? I am still fiercely devoted to my online community of Warrior Moms who are currently struggling with postpartum mood disorders.  I write about my parenting, my involvement with Listen To Your Mother, my continuing journey of health (physical and emotional), theatre, and humor.  I blog about my life, my hobbies, and my journey as a mama who works outside the house full-time.

3.  Why do I write what I write? I wrote as part of my recovery from postpartum depression and postpartum anxiety.  Writing is cathartic and healing for me.  I found an amazing community of women who are warrior moms just like me.  It is refreshing to be with another mama who simply says “I get it.  Me too.” That validation is what we are all looking for.  I am a writer.  I used to shy away from that title because I felt I had not earned that title yet.

4. How does my writing process work?  I come up with ideas and snippets of lines.  I put them into drafts or notes on my phone.  I am still working on a organizational system for my writing thoughts and suggestions.  I also use my time in the shower or on a run to find shape and structure to my thoughts.  Some of my posts are edited many times, and others I just sit down and bleed out onto the screen.  I’m like Kristin in that respect.  Some of my most personal posts have been ones that I have written in one sitting.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in storytelling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Writing Process

  1. dyane says:

    This is a great post! I am an editor at Stigmama.com and I look forward to reading your submission along with founder Dr. Walker Karraa. She is an amazing inspiration to me, and I’m excited you’ll be a part of that community!!!

    • I love Dr. Karraa. She is such an inspiration to me. It was such a fantastic request and opportunity that I could not pass up. Now to find the time to sit down and write.

  2. Becky says:

    Thanks for sharing this. Your dedication to Warrior Moms is such a blessing!

Leave a comment