Mother’s Day: my amazing mom

Mother’s Day is bittersweet for many women: women who are struggling with infertility, women who have lost a child, women who have lost their own mother, and women struggling with postpartum mood disorders.  Please join me over at Postpartum Progress Mother’s Day Rally where I share words of encouragement along with 23 amazing writers who will write letters to struggling mamas.

My own mother is a force of nature.  I am in awe of her strength, her generosity and her resilience.  My mom gave birth to me when she was only twenty-five years old.  She went on to give birth to another baby girl a scant twenty-one months after I was born.  Two years after my sister was born, my mom gave birth to my baby brother, Christopher.  He survived for a few days due to complications from pulmonary atresia, a congenital heart defect.  The following year my maternal grandma, Libby, died.  I wonder how my mom mothered her two little girls without that touchstone of her own mother.  I can scarcely comprehend the magnitude of that loss.

Mom,

I wish I could go back in time and give that young mom who had been through so much loss within one year a huge hug.  We would sit in the dining room and drink coffee without interruption.  Doesn’t that sound glorious?  I would tell you that you are so much stronger and braver than you know.  I would tell you that your daughters grow up to be mothers themselves, and they look to you as their example.  Your daughters are so grateful for the help and support that you provide.  You let them mother their own daughters and follow their lead in parenting and disciplining your grandchildren. I would tell you how loved you are and how one of your granddaughters (Skeeter) looks like her uncle Christopher.  I would tell you that you personify grace through your actions.  I would tell you that your daughters depend on you for advice.  They know how much you consider all sides of a situation before you dispense your advice.  Above all, they never doubt the depth and magnitude of your love.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom!

Love,

Jen

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mother’s Day: my amazing mom

  1. What a nice way to honor your mom.

Leave a Reply

