2020 Phrase of the Year: Use My Voice

For the past eight years I have done the word of the year.  I was introduced to the possibility of the phrase of the year last year.  When I reflect on last year’s word of Inspire, I felt inspired by so many works of art.  I realized that I had not been making the time to write as much as I wanted to.  It wasn’t for lack of inspiration.  It was fear that was holding me back.  When I put my words out on the Internet, they are up for interpretation.  I cannot control how my words get interpreted.  I need to “close my eyes and leap” as Elphaba sang in Defying Gravity.  Clearly I need to write more.  I am reading Big Magic again by Elizabeth Gilbert to give me the nudge and push I need.

This year I chose a phrase of the year.  My phrase is Use my voice. I realized that I have a unique perspective to share as a dear friend Yael once reminded me.  When we share our stories, they can help others heal and understand.  When I share my story, it helps me remind myself of where I have been and where I am now.

As I am nearing the end of a year unlike any other I have experienced in my adult life, I realize that I have had to “use my voice” many times this year. I had to ask for help for myself which meant increasing my therapy sessions from once every three months to a monthly and sometimes weekly check in.  I needed to schedule my vacation and personal time even though I wasn’t traveling anywhere. I still needed that brain break and virtual meeting break. I hate to ask for help, and I was humbled by offers of help from dear friends when our entire nuclear family came down with Covid-19.  I accepted those offers of help which brought us joy, comfort and sustenance.

I am continuing to use my voice as I use my white privilege to speak up and speak out.  If I want to do better, I have to start with myself. I keep examining beliefs I learned and internalized. I am listening to different thought leaders who are diverse in their beliefs and opinions.  I continue to read as many books as I can by authors who do not look like me.  I am continuing to consume movies and television shows that do not center the white male or white female gaze.

I use my voice every time I talk or text with a new parent to let them know that they are not alone. I keep urging our lawmakers to do better and pass laws to help protect all birthing parents. I use my voice to help smash the stigma of perinatal mood and anxiety disorders every time I share my story or share information from Postpartum Support International.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment