Daddy’s Princess

It amazes me how much my daughters have my husband wrapped around their little fingers.  He is an amazing dad.  Munch and Skeeter worship the ground that their daddy walks on.  Munch loves to help her dad in the yard.  Now that Skeeter is old enough, she has started to help too. 

Both girls received soccer balls, soccer kits and T-shirts as soon as they could kick a ball.  Daddy is a goalie, and our girls are so confused that they cannot be goalies yet.  Our soccer club does an introduction to soccer for three to six-year-olds, but they do not introduce the position of goalie until the kids are already in organized soccer.  My girls think that goalie drills are what all kids learn as toddlers.  Of course Daddy is one of the coaches. 

The girls not only share their dad’s passion for soccer, but they also share his love of Star Wars and all the Marvel superheroes.  He can play with them for hours, and his patience with his little ladies is endless.  From the beginning, my husband was very hands on.  He quickly became the swaddling and diaper changing pro, since I was both girls’ main source of nutrition for the first six months.  Our girls think of their dad as a superhero –  brave and strong, yet always ready for comforting and helping.  My husband was both mom and dad when I was so sick.  For that, I am so grateful for his inner strength, his grace and his devotion to his family. 

I realize that I have a very similar relationship with my dad.  He still refers to my sister and I as his “babies” and “princesses”.  He also refers to his granddaughters as his princesses.  My sister and I were spoiled a bit by our dad.  If you ask my mom, she will probably tell you that my dad is a total pushover.  We were always told how smart, how beautiful and how talented we were.  My dad coached both of us in basketball, and he taught us both how to deer hunt.  I treasured our hunting trips.  Since either my sister or I have been pregnant or nursing for the past five years, we haven’t had many chances to go hunting with Dad.  All of my nature lessons with my girls are all based on lessons that my dad taught me. 

I am grateful every day for these two wonderful men.  Happy Father’s Day to two of the best dads I know, my dad and my husband.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Daddy’s Princess

  1. nonniejules says:

    Loved this blog! Now following. Do stop by WATCH NONNIE WRITE! Follow I’d u like, let me know what I think! Do u ever do Guest Posts?

Leave a comment