Hiking for a cause

As I stated in this post, finding the blog Postpartum Progress and Katherine Stone saved my life. I am so thrilled to get the chance to meet her in person this coming July at BlogHer. I have been advised by my warrior mom friends to bring tissues since I will probably cry when I first meet her.

When I read this post, I knew that I was in. I will be hiking with another warrior mama friend of mine along a section of the Ice Age Trail in Wisconsin on Friday, June 21st as a fundraiser for Postpartum Progress Inc. If you would like to donate, click here. I met my goal pretty quickly, so I decided to raise the bar a bit. I love this idea of hiking for this cause. The hike will symbolize the climb out of the muck of postpartum depression and anxiety and up towards my journey of wellness and recovery. This journey of recovery has been in many facets – psychological, emotional, physical and social. This fundraiser will help redesign the blog and provide updated information so that all women will receive education on postpartum mood disorders. Not everyone has the access to all of the online resources. When you are struggling, it is difficult to sift through everything that is out there on postpartum mood disorders. These pamphlets would be available at clinics and doctors’ offices. If we raise enough money, we can get the pamphlets translated into different languages. Help out this amazing cause and give what you can.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in postpartum depression and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hiking for a cause

  1. I am so thrilled with how much money has been raised! Excited to get my climb in sometime this weekend.šŸ™‚

    Looks like you and your friend had a good time today!

Leave a Reply

