Memories Captured: My Munchkin

My sweet Munch,

You are now officially a kindergartener.  Your favorite colors are still pink and purple.  You love Barbies and Star Wars equally.  You prefer dresses over pants and shorts.  Your passion is dance.  Since your recital a few weeks ago, you have not stopped dancing around the house.  I am so grateful that we are able to get you into dance class again this summer. 

Your curiosity was piqued when I picked you up early yesterday.  Upon hearing the news that you are signed up for dance class again, you proceeded to run around the house, leaping and twirling.  In fact, your excitement caused you to fall and scrape up your knees on your way into class. 

I was a little nervous since you moved up a level. The assistant director reassured me that summer was a great time to try out a more advanced class.  I felt relieved when I learned that most of the girls enrolled in the class were either five or six years old.  You would be among your peers.  I had no idea what was in store for you and me. 

As usual, you were a little shy and reserved for a few minutes.  Once you saw familiar faces, you hopped into line.  I watched you as you listened to both your teacher and your assistant teacher.  Your persistence and eagerness to master each new skill is what makes you so special.  I cannot wait to see what this summer and next year brings.  I hope that dancing brings you joy and pride in your strength and skill.  I am so grateful that we found this amazing studio that teaches you skills and models what grace and strength look like.  The school’s vision aligns with the values that I try to instill in you: positivity, kindness, grace and knowledge.  I am thankful to  Alison and Galit for inspiring me to capture this memory of you. 

 

005

 

MemoriesCaptured1

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting, storytelling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Memories Captured: My Munchkin

  1. Alison says:

    She is lovely! May you both have a gorgeous, twirly summer!
    Thank you for linking up with us.

    • Thank you Alison! I keep eyeing the shoes that they sell at her studio. I’m waiting for the right moment to buy myself a pair of both ballet and tap shoes. Helping her practice is something I cherish as a former ballerina.

  2. Galit Breen says:

    Oh you, what a lovely ode to your sweet girl!

    (*My heart warms over againandagain at the thought of her reading this when she’s older! Love!)

    • Galit, thank you so much. I cannot wait until she is old enough to read this. She’s getting closer. She loves it when I read some of my blog posts to her. Maybe this can be a bedtime story tonight.

  3. Rach DonutsMama says:

    She’s so cute! Kindergarten already? I hope she enjoys her summer of dance!

    • Rach, I have to keep reminding myself that she is a kindergartener. It doesn’t seem possible. She is over the moon about dance class again. They do tumbling, ballet, and tap all within that hour. It’s great because it holds their attention.

Leave a Reply

