Me too moments – the magic of LTYM

Lisa Gooseberry from LTYM Milwaukee 2013I am so excited to be working with the lovely Alexandra Rosas again as we launch the second annual Listen To Your Mother show in Milwaukee on April 27, 2014.  It was truly a life changing experience last year; it enriched my life in so many ways.  We are partnering with IMPACT Inc. as our 2014 local cause.  To sweeten it up, we are working with the lovely and kind Rochelle Fritsch, a LTYM Milwaukee alumnus as well as IMPACT Inc.’s Fund Development Director.  LTYM really opened up my eyes and ears to the stories all around me.  I brought a book to read this past week at my daughter’s dance class.  Instead I found community and solidarity while I bore witness to a motherhood story that mirrored my own in so many ways.  After the class ended, the other mom thanked me for listening to her and validating her motherhood experience.  I credit Ann Imig, Alexandra Rosas, Stephanie Precourt, Deb Rox, Melisa Wells, and all the amazing LTYM producers and directors from the other cities that I have met either virtually or in person for giving me this gift that I cherish so deeply.  I actively look for those “me too” moments, and I savor them like the precious pearls of story that they are. 

LTYM and the audition process gave me the gift of meeting so many men and women from all over the metro Milwaukee area.  How often did I get to just listen to someone’s story for five minutes with no interruption before last year’s auditions? I had not since the birth of my own two children.  My girls are born story tellers, but they frequently talk over each other.  Our entire family is working on being present and truly listening.  Our need to be seen, heard and known is so great in our family that we sometimes talk over each other in our quest to be heard.  I am guilty of this, and I continue to work on this tendency to interrupt.  LTYM continues to nurture my love of storytelling and my communication skills, both verbal and nonverbal. 

Our community grows stronger through our shared experiences.  We are very different, but motherhood and our family unites us all.  Please come share your story with us!  We would be honored and delighted to hear your original story on motherhood.  We are looking for people of all ages, gender, ethnic and cultural backgrounds. Whether you are a mother or aren’t, we encourage you to share your story, by appointment only  (details below) and present your original 5-minute piece. Auditions will be held at the Bay Shore Center Community Room at Bay Shore Mall, from 9:00AM to 7:00PM, on Saturday, February 22, or from 9:00AM to 7PM on Sunday, February 23.

To audition, here’s what you need to know:

  1. Auditions are by appointment only (see details below). Time slots available are as listed above at Bayshore Center Community Room 5800 N. Bayshore Dr., Glendale, Wisc.
  2. Please arrive ready to read, with three copies of a 3 to 5 minute prepared original work, on an aspect of motherhood.
  3. Take a deep breath and tell yourself, yours is a story that needs to be heard.

To schedule an audition, or if you have questions or comments, please email ltymmil (at) gmail (dot) com or call 414-939-LTYM (5896).

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in storytelling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Me too moments – the magic of LTYM

  1. I signed up for the Detroit show (I hate Detroit for the record) and I want to puke.
    Sigh…
    Pushing myself this year.
    Pushing myself this year.
    Where’s the bottle of Ativan?

    • So proud of you for auditioning. You’ve got this. Stepping outside your comfort zone is terrifying and liberating at the same time.
      Nothing wrong with having some Ativan on hand for the audition.

  2. Proud of you and the work you’re doing on this!!

Leave a comment