Calm amidst the chaos

025I found my holiday spirit.  Unlike my husband and my girls, I am not ready for Christmas immediately after we have finished our Thanksgiving meal.  I tend to obsess and worry about all the things that need to be done – purchasing gifts, purchasing cards, addressing the cards, mailing the cards, wrapping the presents, decorating the house, and managing all the logistics and scheduling of all of our holiday parties.  I love celebrating with our friends and family.  It is just a lot to handle.  I like to dip my toes into the holiday season, one task at a time.

I found my holiday spirit this past weekend. It came in the form of a sweet four year old who is SO EXCITED about Christmas. She asks every day how many more days until Christmas, how many more days until this family party, and when do I get to see my cousins. Skeeter rekindled in me the spirit of Christmas – the warmth of family and friends. I listened to Christmas music and started addressing our Christmas cards. I joyfully Christmas shopped and then snuggled with my littlest angel. She reminds me again and again to embrace life like the gift it is.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Calm amidst the chaos

  1. John says:

    Such wonderful sentiment!

    My saving grace this Christmas has been a silly Lego Advent Calendar. I love Christmas – though, like you, I hate how much there is to do. But what I was REALLY afraid of was a constant “how many more days” “when is Christmas going to be here” barrage of questions.

    But with the Advent Calendar . . . there is something the kids can look forward to, each & every day (they wake, look for the Elf on the Shelf, and open the Lego toy for the day), and, when there are no more toys? Then it’s Christmas. So, they’re getting exponentially more excited without actually making me fear the barrage of “when” questions. It’s REALLY made for a pretty awesome Christmas season.

Leave a comment