2017 Word: Nurture 

As I reflect on the past year as we start a new school year, I realized how much my one word of 2016 was my anchor: courage. Both my husband and I changed jobs this year. This also meant a change in our daughters’ childcare. I’m now picking the girls up from childcare after school. He is the one who drops them off in the mornings. After 8 years of the same schedule, this was a huge adjustment for all of us. I’m now the primary cook since he gets home later.

I have a team of employees who report to me which again was a huge adjustment. I had forgotten how mentally exhausting it can be when you are managing a team of very different personalities while initiating some major changes in processes and procedures.  I also struggled with impostor syndrome in a huge way.  I had to keep reminding myself that I was chosen for this job because of my unique skill set.  I made mistakes along the way as a new again manager.  I remind myself that I need to bring my authentic self to work everyday.  As a team we continue to grow, and I realize that we are stronger together.

I’ve had the honor and privilege to be in some amazing Facebook groups where we focus on living intentionally. This year I learned of the concept of the one word and anchors to help you remain focused on that one word. My word is nurture which means “to care for and encourage the growth or development of”. My anchor words are nourish, focus and foster. Nourish means “to provide with the food or other substances necessary for growth, health, and good condition”. Focus means “an act of concentrating interest or activity on something.” Foster means “to encourage or promote the development of”.

This stage in my life involves lots of nurturing.  I am focusing on nurturing myself, my husband, my daughters, my extended family, my team and my friends.  I am choosing self-care that reflects my priorities in life – physical, mental, emotional and spiritual.  All four facets of my being require care and nurturing.  I am trying to model this for my girls.  They are my greatest teachers, and I am their biggest student.  change ahead

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in self care and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2017 Word: Nurture 

  1. Charity says:

    You do it all very well!

Leave a Reply

