Five Years of Stories 


A week from today Milwaukee will have its finale Listen To Your Mother show at 3 p.m. in the same venue that housed both our inaugural and second shows. It is a bittersweet feeling like watching my youngest skip off to kindergarten. Three weeks after our show she has her graduation ceremony. 

To our current cast, thank you for bringing your stories and energy to Alexandra, Rochelle and I.  We needed to see how much our community still hungers for connection and storytelling. To our alumni of the past four years, thank you for continuing to share your stories and champion storytelling. My life has been enriched by all these different perspectives. 

To Rochelle, thank you for making Milwaukee a trio. I’m always inspired by your words and your actions. As a mom raising daughters, your counsel and wisdom has helped me through so much. To Alexandra, what can I possibly say? You took a chance on me when I was still struggling from postpartum depression and anxiety. You saw a spark in me that I didn’t recognize in myself. Your faith and belief in me gave me the courage and confidence to go after my goals. To my husband, my parents and my girls, thank you for being the help behind the scenes. I appreciate it so much. This project gave me back my passion for theatre. Thank you for honoring and nurturing that gift even when you all worried that I bit off more than I could chew. 

Ann, thank you for creating this movement. I have been transformed by the amazing women and men I have met or watched from the sister cities. The love, energy and enthusiasm for using stories to bring our communities together is what fueled me. Come see the magic of Listen To Your Mother Milwaukee for our final show – get your tickets http://www.brownpapertickets.com/event/2935129

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Years of Stories 

  1. alexandra says:

    Love you love you love you, Jenny. Remember all the work, the quiet and necessary work that you do for these shows the past five years: flyers, programs, securing the venue, running the tech rehearsal, and making sure our show has a PLACE on show day. That is all you, Jen, and I never thought you couldn’t do it. You have never let us down, you have always come through with precise detail and specification. This is what makes show day a breeze. You are more than capable, Jen, I always knew that. THANK YOU for the past 5 years, LTYM MKE never would have happened without you.

Leave a Reply

