This is Nine

My sweet Munch,

This has to be in my top five favorite pictures of you and I. We are laughing and enjoying each other.  I know that soon you won’t hold my hand in the parking lot or seek me out first for advice.  My job is plant your roots and give you wings to fly.

I love your grace, kindness and empathy. As the oldest child, you are paving the way for your little sister. I know she can annoy you a lot. Don’t forget that both Daddy and I were the oldest in our families. We are experts in annoying little sisters. Thank you sweet girl for showing us unconditional love and forgiveness when we make mistakes. 

The other day we talked about “pretty”. At first my  heart sank because I thought you hated how you looked.  Your definition was someone who dressed up all the time. I asked you to list off your best qualities – intelligence, artistic ability in both visual and performance arts (dancing), kindness and beauty. I reminded you that true beauty is both inside and out.  I nearly burst into tears. The amazing young woman in front of me was confident and assured well beyond her years. You are so loved, my sweet girl.
Love 

Mama

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This is Nine

  1. John says:

    It looks like Munch has some great years ahead of her . . . happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

