Six Years

My sweet Skeeter,

When I whispered to you last night that it was your last night as a five year old, your eyes sparkled with delight. You told me that you’re not too old and you’re not too little. You’re just right for the age you are.

All day kindergarten has brought some changes with it. You tell Daddy and I how much work you do during the day. You were surprised to learn that you have to wear your uniform every day. You love your specials – art, music, gym, library and Spanish. Your capacity to remember all melodies and song lyrics is making Spanish so much fun for you. You are learning your new language primarily through music which is your love language. You just might be the only kindergartner whose favorite song is My Shot from Hamilton.

Never lose your sense of wonder and delight with the world.  I love to watch you sing, write, dance, and create.  Life brings us joy and pain, and I cannot shield you from the pain as much as I want to.  I want you to know how much you are loved.  Your capacity for love and joy is your greatest gift, sweetheart.

Thank you for healing the wounds in your mama’s heart.  I felt like I would not be able to be the mom I wanted to be for you and your sister.  When you watched my Listen To Your Mother video this past year, you broke my heart open with your capacity for love, grace and forgiveness.  You patted my cheek and whispered I love you as I cried listening to my story of how desperate I had been after your birth.  I was transformed from that experience into the mama you know today, perfectly imperfect just like you.

 

Love,

Mama

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Six Years

  1. You are a loving passionate mama who has brought an amazing gift to this world in the embodiment of your daughter. I hope you both soak in your day. Remember, but also look forward. Embrace your yesterday and your tomorrow (this is Charity)

  2. Andrea Bates says:

    Tears to my eyes, my friend. Full heart. Love you and your sweet babies. And happy birthday to your beautiful blessing.

    I will miss you so this weekend, but I know I will hug you again soon. xo

  3. John says:

    It seems impossible how quickly they grow and what they learn and can accomplish.

    Happy birthday, Skeeter.

Leave a Reply

