One Word: Courage

 

Have the courage to follow your heart and intuitionMy word last year was believe. I needed this word as a talisman as I experienced a layoff for the first time in my professional career. As I reflected on my next steps, I realized that I had not brought my authentic self to work. I spent so much time fitting myself into what people expected of me.

I saw this new opportunity as a chance to make a fresh start. I chose the word courage for this year.  I wanted to lead from my heart. I discovered that I enjoy work because I am myself. My boss has become a mentor to me. I can get perspective, support and insight. I enjoy leading a team even when it is challenging.

Three months into this new year courage and opening my heart is exactly what I need to do. Leading like this is vulnerable. It is not easy at all. It requires me to be intentional and mindful of my interactions with everyone. At times I get frustrated and twitchy because change is difficult. I need to remember that change does not happen overnight. I need to give myself, my family and my team the grace and space to adapt to change.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in self care and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One Word: Courage

  1. ace1028 says:

    I have missed your voice. Obviously, I’ve missed your face, too – because I keep wishing for that teleporter to zoom me to see you. xo I’m so glad that things have changed in such a positive direction. xo you friend.

  2. Ruth says:

    Hot damn! This brought tears to my eyes. You are precious.❤

Leave a Reply

