Fitness Fridays: Letting Go of One Goal and Embracing Another

Don't Wait until you've reached your goalIf you follow me on any of the social media channels, you will notice a lack of running posts.  I had initially planned to run my first half-marathon this year on November 1st as part of Milwaukee’s Inaugural Running Festival.  After getting sidelined by an injury, I thought that I could ease my way back into the training program.  After three weeks of long runs, I had my strong left leg buckle underneath me.  My calf started cramping, and I hobbled along.  My amazing running buddy Sharon never left my side.  She shared some fuel and water with me, and we slowly made our way back.

After I spoke with the half program training manager, she thought it could have been a combination of loss of electrolytes and that my left side had gotten weaker.  Since my injury was on my right knee, I devoted a lot of mindful thought and energy to building strength back up on that side.  I went back to my physical therapist, and she worked on both legs. I brought her the training plan to review, and she made suggestions for a slower ramping up plan.

The following long run, I knew that I was only going to run about half of it.  I started out with my pace group, but I could not keep up.  My speed is much slower as a result of the injury and retraining my running gait.  I had not warmed up properly because I got there late.  I ended up cutting my run short, and I stopped at just around three miles.  The rest of the group was running nine miles that day.  I was crying with every step I took.  I just could not get my legs to loosen up.  I decided at that moment that I quit the training program. I could not continue to train for this race without ending up with yet another injury.  I called my husband to tell him.  Then I walked into the store, and I burst into tears.  Disappointment and sadness filled my thoughts for a few days.

This injury and slower than normal recovery taught me that I need to be patient with myself and give myself grace.  I love running because it gives me joy.  When I was pushing myself too much too fast, I did not feel any joy.  I ended up going for a four mile a few weeks later with my cousin and the Minerva Muses.  I ran at an even slower pace than I had for my half training, and I felt fantastic.  I felt joy and elation.  I knew that this is the type of running I need to get back to.  I want to run just for fun, not to win prizes or get a personal best.

Now I’m focusing on building back up strength in my entire body.  I am doing weight training, Body Combat, yoga, PiYo, walking, and dancing.  I know that I will get back my strength and speed.  I am focusing on continuing to do my physical therapy exercises, and I try to foam roll every day if I can.  I will run again, and I hope that I can run in a 5K before the end of the year.  Grace is a lesson I will continue to practice again and again.  I will become a stronger runner because of this setback.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fitness Fridays: Letting Go of One Goal and Embracing Another

  1. I have no advice. You already covered it with giving yourself grace/ Lots and lots of grace

  2. Ruth says:

    “I will become a stronger runner because of this setback.” That, my friend, is a life lesson we can all use… Runner or not. ❤️

  3. John says:

    Injuries suck — there’s no two ways about it.

    I like your current plan — it’s going to allow you to become a better runner, and a healthier/stronger person, over-all.

  4. Injuries just stink. ha, and I just saw the comment above – yes, they suck.

    I love that you’re giving yourself grace and returning to your love of running. That’s so important. Much love to you, sweet friend!

Leave a Reply

