Mama’s Night Out

A Phish concert 076as self-care?  I can hear you all snickering.  Unless you know what fuels me, then you cannot begin to understand how amazing that concert was to my soul.  Music is a part of my life.  Certain bands help me connect to my pre-mom life. No band does that more than Phish.  I saw my first concert right before my freshman year of college.

This year’s Phish concert was a gathering with my husband, my sister, and my brother-in-law.  Serendipity was meeting a local Warrior Mom friend who I adore on my way to the bathroom.  Karen is a gem and a total music junkie just like me.

I also got to make a new friend at the concert.  I happened to see a note in a Facebook group of the Climb Out team leaders that a Warrior Mom was going to be at the Phish concert that weekend.  I messaged her, and we became Facebook friends.  We then exchanged phone numbers.  My family members were dumbstruck that I was going to meet this woman I had never met in person before.  I find that connection so difficult to explain.  That sisterhood of those who have struggled is like no other.  Amanda and I chatted for over an hour.  She knows one of my dear friends, Andrea, so we bonded over the awesomeness of our amazing friend.

I danced like no one was watching me for the entire concert.  Movement feeds my soul. I stopped dancing only to rest for a bit and to go the bathroom  I felt so free and so alive.  I was able to enjoy the evening without worrying about my girls.  They were in the capable hands of their grandparents.  The conversation, the dancing and the amazing company made this evening a memorable night.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Humor, parenting, self care and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mama’s Night Out

  1. That sounds like a great evening

  2. ace1028 says:

    You already know how much I love all of this. Your words here just remind me of exactly how much. I adore you, mama. I love this so. xo

  3. John says:

    This post makes me all sorts of happy.

    Isn’t there something super refreshing about meeting someone brand new, though you’ve only ever “known” the person virtually?

    You need not explain, to me, just how wonderful pre-parent music can make one feel.

    And damn, you & your sister look alike.

  4. I’m so glad you had a great time! What a fun thing that you two met up!

Leave a Reply

