Push and Pull of Back to School

wpid-20150901_102314.jpgMunch started back to school on Tuesday. My sweet Skeeter had a staggered start for 4K, so she didn’t start back to school until Wednesday. Rather than send her to daycare I decided to spend the day with her.

I let Skeeter decide what she wanted to do for the entire day. She wore her nightgown to drop off her big sister at school. I insisted on a pair of shorts. She happily obliged.  Skeeter then requested a morning snack and a TV show.  Her suggestion to ride our bikes to the park sounded amazing even though it was so humid.  She patiently waited while I pumped up my flat tires.  She did a fantastic job crossing the busy streets, and she listened to all my instructions.  I was so grateful for the hour we spent at the park, playing while we both cooled down.  My black bike helmet sucked in all the heat.  Thankfully the ride home was quicker than the way to the park.  Skeeter’s confidence in her new-found skills helped.

We ate lunch at one of her favorites, McDonald’s, and she got to play all by herself on the indoor playground.  I spent most of my time just watching her, taking a few pictures and videotaping her.  I only checked my phone from time to time to keep an eye on the time.

At the end of the day she sobbed saying that she wanted to be by me.  She hadn’t been next to me all day long.  I fumed to her that I didn’t understand  We spent the entire day together.  Later that night it hit me.  My sweet girl’s love language is physical contact.  She wants to sit right next to me or on top of me or her dad.  Skeeter craves physical closeness.  I finally realized why I felt like she pushes boundaries.  She knows no physical space.  She loves to be touching or holding hands or hugging.  That is how she shows love.  This realization will help us all transition back to school by understanding her need for closeness and our need for some space.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Humor, parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Push and Pull of Back to School

  1. The touch love language is a toughie. It makes me really touchy😉

  2. Ruth says:

    Many hugs to sweet Skeeter as she gets started with school. Love to the momma who loves on her.

  3. What a sweetheart! Sounds like a wonderful day together. I totally understand both sides of the love language – my love language is physical contact as well, but I also get “touched out” when my kids are really clingy. Big hugs to all of you as you start the new routine!🙂

  4. John says:

    My CJ is the same . . . “being together” is not the same as “cuddling.” And he needs the latter. Though, well, there are times that “dammit, enough already, stop touching me.”

    Anywho, that sounds like a WONDERFUL day. I don’t get enough one-on-one time with my two. I really have to figure out how to remedy that.

    • I still struggle with getting one on one time with each of the girls. It’s definitely a balancing act. EXACTLY on the cuddling. Okay Mommy is going to go hide in the bathroom for a minute to escape the cuddle monster.

Leave a Reply

