#BlackLivesMatter

My heart is heavy again and grieves for the ugliness that resides in our country.  The arrest of Sandra Bland appalled me.  I do not understand how it escalated so quickly.  The officer asked her a question, and she responded with honesty and assertiveness.  For failing to signal a lane change, Sandra Bland was arrested.

I know that some of my friends have probably blocked from their news feed or unfriended me when I talk about race relations.  Black lives matter.  Black men and women are dying at unprecedented rates in this country.  We are NOT a post-racial society.  Do you hear the vitriol that is spewn at our President?  People do not respect the office because of the color of the man who is in it.  Period.

I struggle with what to say, especially in light of the fact that Sandra had spoken up about her struggle with depression.  When in doubt, I remember the words that Divya Kumar said to us at the Warrior Mom Conference.  “Women from ALL different places and backgrounds have these illnesses.  They face different challenges based on their identities, privilege and life circumstances. ” I will continue to share the voices of diverse perspectives.  When words fail me, that is how I choose to be an ally.  I get uncomfortable and examine my own racial bias. The only way the system will change is if those in power are willing to change it.  As a white woman, I have privilege.  I must choose how I exercise it.  I choose to continue to speak up about racial injustice and the disparity that is inherent within our educational system and our government.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #BlackLivesMatter

Leave a Reply

