Warrior Mom in Action

I had an idea that began nearly two years at BlogHer.  I wrote this proposal, and a small change was made. I was not content with the small change, and I felt like more could be done. Katherine reminded me that it takes different approaches to effect change in the corporate world.

An opportunity presented itself. I heard a top executive talk about how our women’s network can be a catalyst for support and encouragement. A colleague of mine focuses on health. I asked her if she would be open to a presentation on mental health. The moment I got back to my desk, I rewrote my initial proposal and reworked it into a presentation. Within 10 minutes of submitting this idea, I received a yes for this presentation.

Two days before Mother’s Day I outed myself to our women’s network as a mental health blogger. I told my story of postpartum depression and anxiety. I felt like I was going to throw up due to nerves. Once I started the presentation, I felt those nerves slip away. I was stunned by the reaction I received. So many women thanked me. Everyone agreed that mental health needed to be a top priority. Because of this presentation another opportunity presented itself. One person can make a difference. Owning my truth made me realize how much we all need that chance to share our stories.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in postpartum depression, storytelling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Warrior Mom in Action

  1. John says:

    I don’t want to be ruin a spoiler, but have you read Doctor Sleep (Stephen King, the sequel to The Shining)?

  2. Charity says:

    Good Job my friend

  3. I’ve been meaning to leave a comment on this post for a while. This is SO awesome, Jen. I’m so proud of you for fearlessly (even when you are afraid!) speaking your truth. You are a wonderful advocate for yourself and others. xo

  4. Laura says:

    Good for you! I’m in awe of your courage.

Leave a Reply

