Fitness Fridays: Sidelined by Injury

I am taking a hiatus from running not by choice. I had felt pain in my right knee. After years of dancing, playing basketball, running and coaching soccer injury free, I am sidelined.

The good news is that it is a soft tissue issue. My X-rays showed no issue with my knee. After my visit with my orthopedic doctor, I was discharged with a prescription for physical therapy. I went to my first session today, and I left with hope. Running mama friends you were right. It is definitely my IT band. Walking, swimming, biking, yoga and strength training are still options for me. The plan is to be back running in four weeks after physical therapy. I have my knee taped, and I am doing my exercises daily.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fitness Fridays: Sidelined by Injury

  1. Charity says:

    Do those exercises! Can’t wait to see you back running, but also what you accomplish this 4 weeks with your other exercise.

  2. John says:

    You’re playing it the right way — “working through the pain” is SELDOM a good idea. Get yourself healthy & then get back on the road🙂

  3. I was so sorry to hear that you were injured! I hope that healing is going well.

    • It is going well. I finally get to test out a walk/jog with my physical therapist this next week. She’s checking out my running gait to see what type of body mechanic issues I have got going on.

  4. Laura says:

    What a bummer! I hope that I’m so behind in blog reading that you are already healed!

  5. Pingback: Fitness Fridays: Letting Go of One Goal and Embracing Another | Tranquila Mama

Leave a Reply

