Listen To Your Mother 2015 – post show letdown

DSC01138[1]I had forgotten about the letdown that you feel after being in an amazing experience.  The past two years I remained in a state of shock for about a week after the show ended.  This year I missed our cast, my production team, and the venue team the next day.  Producing a show and watching everyone step outside of their comfort zones and share their truth is exhilarating and inspiring.  I walked into work taller with a sense of confidence and pride for being a part of such an amazing experience.

I owe so much to the two amazing women in the photo with me.  Alexandra and Rochelle have spoiled me for all other working relationships.  I have so much love and respect for them both.  We became an entity throughout this process forged by snort laughing, emojis, memes and our beloved coffee. I learn so much about mothering tweens and teens. Alexandra encourages me to believe in myself and take risks. Rochelle advises me to exercise grace and caution. I refer to them as my “brain trust”. All moms need mom friends and confidants who expose us to different ideas and perspectives. I am forever changed by my friendship with them. We had a group hug before the curtain went up. I quoted Pitch Perfect by telling them that “I love you dorks”.

This is such a labor of love for us because we love how storytelling brings our community together.  We are up late the last week muttering to do items in our sleep.  I had to hand write my list. It is my way of committing it to memory. We end up running on adrenaline and excitement the day of the show.

Each cast is a mystery to us at the beginning of the season.  We never know how the personalities will gel.  I wanted to freeze time during our show to watch the looks on everyone’s faces. I saw courage,determination, elation and triumph. I wanted to be like my mom and give each person a standing ovation.  At the very least, I wanted to stand up and have them high five me or do a fist pump.  LTYM empowers our cast; I can see each person stand a little taller after their piece.  The baby birds left our secure nest to fly and soar.  I cannot wait to see each and every one of them take flight.  When we stand in our truth and own our story, nothing seems impossible.

DSC01056[1]

*Photos courtesy of Orphonic Multimedia.*

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in storytelling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Listen To Your Mother 2015 – post show letdown

  1. I know, Jenny. It gets more amazing with each year. Thank you for your huge contribution to our shows. You do so much, and you do it with great love. Thank you.

  2. dyane says:

    Wow! Congratulations!! I’m so impressed with the incredible work you’ve done! :)))) I hope you feel refreshed soon too!

  3. Laura says:

    Sounds like a lot of work… which can turn into lots of stress and negativity without the right people to share it with. Glad you had such wonderful women to share the work with and turn it into such a beautiful experience.

Leave a Reply

