Fitness Fridays: How Shakeology Changed Me

001My breakfast consists of a super food shake.  It is a meal replacement shake.  Prior to my introduction to Shakeology, I only knew of meal replacement shakes that people drank after weight loss surgery or as a part of a medically approved weight loss program.  I agreed to try this product out based on the recommendation of a friend of mine who was an RN.  I was a little skeptical at first, but then I became a believer of this product.

Shakeology satisfies me.  The chocolate flavor quenches my sweet tooth.  I am not tempted to grab a doughnut on my way into the office in the morning.  I It starts my morning off right.  I used to be hungry about a half hour after my breakfast.  I love the fact that this is a quick, easy meal that I do not have to think about.  I can mix it up in a minute and be out the door in the morning.  I use the chocolate Shakelogy, 8 oz of skim milk or almond milk, 1 tbsp of peanut butter, 1/2 banana, and 4 ice cubes all blended up together.

I no longer take the probiotics I was taking on a daily basis for my microscopic colitis.  My colitis flares disappeared once I started drinking Shakeology and eating clean.  I saved money on the probiotics which were only a twenty-eight day supply which meant that I purchased them every four weeks at anywhere from twenty to nearly thirty dollars.  I have struggled with a few bouts of rotovirus, and I have continued to drink the shake on those days.  In fact it was one of the few things that I could stomach while battling the “puke bug” as my daughter called it.  If Shakeology interests you, e-mail me at tranquilamama@gmail.com, and we can chat about it.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fitness Fridays: How Shakeology Changed Me

  1. John says:

    I do take daily probiotics – but I take what I make myself: whole milk yogurt and whole milk kefir, which I make on a weekly basis for breakfast ($9 for breakfasts – 460 daily calories) and then sauerkraut & kimchi for lunches (less than $5 for lunch sides, and about 100 daily calories).

    But a funny story about meal replacements — I had an obese roommate my senior year of college. He decided to start SlimFast . . . and started by having a shake WITH breakfast. He wasn’t eating any less . . . he added a SlimFast shake to what he was eating. Needless to say, this didn’t work for him.

    Glad this is working for you — love hearing success stories🙂

    • John, Slimfast was exactly what I first imagined when my friend sent me samples. I am so glad that I found this tool that works for me, especially in our hectic mornings. I’m in awe of the kefir, kimchi and sauerkraut. It’s the smell that does me in with sauerkraut. My poor German-American grandpas would be horrified that I hate sauerkraut. I love getting the probiotics from food instead of a pill.

  2. dyane says:

    Oh my God, that shake looks sooooooooooo yummy! I’m so glad you discovered it!🙂

Leave a Reply

