Just Write: Sick Days

wpid-20150223_171344.jpgI knew what kind of day we all needed after a frantic text at the close of Listen To Your Mother Milwaukee auditions Sunday afternoon.  My youngest daughter Skeeter had succumbed to the same tummy bug that had kept up Munch the night before.  This bug kept both my husband and I in a state of constant alert for each cough.  Munch barely slept Saturday night, and so neither did my husband or I.

High on the excitement of listening to more amazing stories and caffeine, I managed to stay alert and present until that text.  Rochelle and Alexandra hurried me out the door, so that I could be home with my babies.  I knew it was the right decision when my sweet Munch asked me if I had to work the next day. I told her no.  I told her that I was taking a whole day off just to take care of her and her sister.  The delight in her eyes made that working mama guilt bubble to the surface.  I squashed it down, and I knew I had made the right choice.

Our day was full of movies, snuggles on the couch, lukewarm Sprite, water, oyster crackers, chicken noodle soup, books and naps.  I even got in a nap.  We divided our time between the living room and our comfy bed.  I even let them bring snacks into our bedroom and eat the dry cereal in bed.  We needed that day of love and togetherness.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Just Write: Sick Days

  1. John says:

    Very good job🙂

    Last Tuesday, I ended up doing the same . . . my mother in law (typical childcare provider) wasn’t feeling super great and CJ was fighting both a cough & a fever . . . the only thing? I never managed a nap.

    • The nap was amazing. I needed it after Saturday night with barely any sleep and all the auditions. I’m so proud I stayed engaged and alert. It was all the fantastic stories we heard.

  2. Laura says:

    And here you are finding the silver lining of the everyone’s sick cloud.🙂

  3. You are such a wonderful mom! Hope everyone is doing well now.🙂

Leave a Reply

