#1000speaks – Storytelling and Compassion

When I began my foray into Listen To Your Mother, I had no idea the stories that I would be privy to at auditions.  Storytelling is a tradition as old as the human race.  In our connected world, we lose sight of being present and really listening to stories.  As a mom of two little girls, they can talk my ear off.  I am a distracted listener and an habitual multi-tasker.  This trait made me seem unkind and not caring.  I also had horrible recall of stories and conversations.  I simply was not present.

LTYM changed my life.  The whole audition process made me a more compassionate listener.  We see ordinary people tell extraordinary stories. It made me realize that I can never truly know a person’s story until I hear it from them.  Everyone wants to be truly seen and heard.  Each story touches my heart, and I leave auditions feeling grateful for this opportunity to hear these sacred stories.  Stories are how we make sense of our world, and it is a blessing to listen to them, distraction free.  It has made me a better listener to my little ladies.  I ask them now to stop telling me a story if my attention is not focused entirely on them.  I crave those moments of their day that they decide to share with me.

 

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #1000speaks – Storytelling and Compassion

  1. Ina Tales says:

    How Sweet! The art of story telling is what made me want to write.. I had some avid story tellers in my life.🙂

    • Ina, I have come across some fantastic story tellers in my life that I am blessed to call family and friends. This is what propels me to write. I do not know if I will be able to remember all my stories to tell them orally to my family, friends and children.

  2. Laura says:

    “Everyone wants to be truly seen and heard.” So true. I find I’m often totally okay with someone disagreeing or I’m able to accept when someone does something I find hurtful etc. if I feel like they at least listen and acknowledge how I feel.

Leave a Reply

