The Morning Routine is Fun

If you speak to any of my college  roommates or my work colleagues from my pre child years, they will tell you that I am NOT a morning person.  Motherhood reluctantly pushed me into becoming a morning person.  My darling daughters are also decidedly not morning people. Skeeter in particular shouts at us to “turn off the alarm!”.  I have written previously about my struggles with the morning routine here and here.

A major factor that has relieved some of the morning stress is that I only have one place to drop off both Munch and Skeeter.  When school started this year, I heard the angels singing.  The logistics of coordinating multiple drop offs and picks ups wore both my husband and I out last year.

I started off the year with high hopes of getting us out the door.  I tried games and contests like my husband does.  My girls do not like to be hurried, and my perfectionist nature manifests itself in calls to hurry up.  Mindfulness does not come easy for me at all.  I want to be more deliberate in my parenting.

I realized that I had an opportunity during breakfast with my girls.  I could talk to them about the day, about current events, and about what I am writing.  If I leave them unsupervised during breakfast, they end up teasing each other and neglecting to actually eat.  I took charge and started steering our conversations.  We have discussed everything from racism to body image to our #oneword for the year. My word is believe.  Munch’s word is namaste.  Skeeter’s word is color.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Morning Routine is Fun

  1. John says:

    My children are *not* morning children. I wake at 4:30 because I have a morning dog that, if I don’t wake a 4:30, he sticks his nose in my face until I do wake. I walk the morning dog, feed both the morning dog & the not-morning dog (who is too feeble to walk around the block), work out, then dress the kids. 19 times out of 20, they’re still asleep after I’ve dressed them.

    Then I make coffee.

    It’s not uncommon for my wife to put their coats & shoes on as they still sleep, which means I head upstairs and carry them from the bedroom to the car (sometimes, they even sleep through this). She drop them off with her mother, who is retired and enjoys having them, on her way to work.

  2. Laura says:

    Color… I love it!

  3. moirasennett says:

    I love, love, love that your sweet girl, who I remember had some kind of clairvoyant insight into my depression when she was about three, picked namaste as her word.

Leave a Reply

