Fitness Fridays: Meditation and Strength Training

My results from the 21 day were a three-pound weight loss, 3 inches off my hips and 2 inches off my waist.  I finally have found my strength training groove again.  I will definitely keep coming back to this program.  The workouts are perfect to fit into my jam-packed schedule.  After triumphantly finishing the program, then I got struck down by a nasty sinus infection.  I spent an entire week without working out.  The dizziness and sinus pressure make it impossible for me to do any type of balancing activity.  Even gentle yoga can wipe me out.  I listened to my body, and I slept as much as I possibly could.

This month, I am participating in a 30 day meditation challenge with my friends Jaime and Story.  I adore yoga, and I thought meditation might be a nice complement to help with overall stress reduction.  To my friends and family who read this blog, go ahead and laugh.  I am type A, and I struggle with sitting still.  I refer to my mind as “monkey brain”.  I continually focus on the next thing and the next thing.

My goal for this month is to get back outside and do some winter running.  I did not run in January except for the first day of the month.  I plan on continuing to bump up the intensity of my workouts as I recover from this bug.  I have gotten in lots of cardio with shoveling the lovely white stuff as well as taking different classes at our local Y.  I have become a group exercise junkie.  I love being motivated and challenged by others around me.  i know that I am only in competition with myself, but I love being surrounded by my fitness buddies.  The Y provides me with that community.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fitness Fridays: Meditation and Strength Training

  1. Laura says:

    You’re doing such a good job taking care of your body, whether that means exercising or resting. Good for you!

  2. John says:

    I hope to get outside in the very near future to start running again . . . I have Tuesdays & Thursdays set as my cardio days (with a long run set for Saturday or Sunday), but between the cold and the ice and the wind and the rain and the freaking cold and the fact that it’s warm inside my house and a blister and any number of other excuses, well, I haven’t run. In a very long time. And April is coming up….

Leave a Reply

