Fitness Fridays: Week 1 of the 21 Day Fix

I hesitated to put this as one of my goals on my last post – to start and complete a fitness program.  I let life get in the way.  I have made tremendous progress from where I was just two years ago.  I still lack discipline.  This program is just the kick in the pants that I needed.  It is twenty-one days of clean eating and exercise.  My portion control is fairly good, but I sometimes consume too many liquid calories.  This program teaches me about the macro-nutrients.  I clearly need more protein in my diet.  It has required me to do more menu planning which is a huge benefit for our family.  It has solved the endless debating on what we want for dinner.  I even got my daughters to try baked cod.

I had to double up on workouts due to a forty-five minute shoveling workout and an hour-long Body Pump class on Wednesday that left all of my limbs like jelly.  I love Autumn’s approach.  She inspires me.  The exercises are boot camp style – one minute of work followed by fifteen seconds of rest.  The time flies by.  I love that there is someone who modifies the workout.  Honestly I cannot hold a plank for a minute.  I hope to work up to it by the end of the program, but I made it to thirty seconds.

I am struggling a bit with giving up my delicious flavored coffee creamer.  It does have a lot of processed stuff in it. I realized that I do not care for black coffee at all. The coffee itself makes a huge difference if I mix it with just skim milk and sugar.  I have used the creamer, but I have not used it as liberally as I have in the past.  I can actually taste the coffee now.  I am so excited to try out a new coffee that my in-laws got for me for Christmas.   I am struggling with hydration this week as well.  It has been bitterly cold which fuels my need for just warm drinks – ie coffee and not as much water.  I know that the dry cold deceives me into thinking that I have not exerted myself as much.  Today I am focusing on staying hydrated.  That is my goal for this weekend.  Has anyone struggled to finish fitness challenges like I have?

 

 

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Health and fitness, self care and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fitness Fridays: Week 1 of the 21 Day Fix

  1. John says:

    I have huge struggles with fitness challenges . . . I start out strong, but lose steam just a little bit into any given challenge. So, I’ve decided no more challenges — I do change things up, relatively often, but, every time I attempt something, it’s with “for forever” in mind – even if I know that it’s not likely, it’s the goal — if there’s not a (seemingly arbitrary) finish line in sight, I don’t think “well, it’s only until then, so what’s the difference if I stop now?”

    As it stands, I’m continuing no refined flours/sugars . . . though I had breaded & fried chicken yesterday at a party (and I’m feeling it today). I wake, walk the dog, do strength training, make my coffee, enjoy my coffee. Once at work, I start my tea brewing & have some yogurt — every time I eat, I try to finish up with a cup of tea with apple-cider vinegar & lemon in it . . . a signal that “ok, you’re done.”

    So far, it’s been working . . . but the lack of time is getting to me.

    • John, I so hear on losing steam on fitness challenges. This one was ideal for me since it is just 21 days. Cutting out the processed foods makes a huge difference in my energy level. I felt so sluggish after the holidays after all the sweet treats and richer food that I ate. I just felt like a slug. I worked out throughout the holidays, and that helped. The eating makes such a difference. I have petered out this week on getting up early. I am fighting off a cold, so I’m working out at night. That makes a huge difference in my energy levels as well.

      • John says:

        Just before the holidays, I went in for my annual physical — my doctor lauded my progress, but showed a lot of concern over my concern about the holidays. From December 24 through January 2, I had multiple “big events” (Christmas Eve, Christmas Morning, Christmas Day, a big Christmas party, my anniversary, my birthday, New Year’s Eve, New Year’s Day), and I knew I was going to abandon my discipline.

        And I did.

        I think I put on something like 12 pounds, but it wasn’t the weight, so much, in itself (honestly, most of that was, probably, water weight from excessive sodium intake) . . . but feeling sluggish. Seriously, it felt like I was a diesel engine that just had regular unleaded put in it . . . something was wrong.

        I’d say that, here we are 22 days AFTER the end of that binge, and I really only feel like I’m back to where I was now.

      • That is why I loved doing this right after the holidays. I managed to maintain my weight for the most part, but I felt so sluggish. All the extra salt really made me feel like I could not get enough water to drink.

  2. Charity says:

    Almost 2 weeks done Jen. How was tonight? I’ve not done well with the eating, but have been watching what I eat and being a lot more conscious of my choices. All thanks to you. Back to PiYo for me after this.

    • Tonight was good. I’ve done some double days based on other workouts. It has helped me dial into my nutrition. I want to do another round next month or possibly a hybrid of that and PiYo. I am inspired by you.

Leave a Reply

