One Word: Believe

My word for this year is Believe.  According to Merriam-Webster, the definition of believe verb is “to accept or regard (something) as true”, “to accept the truth of what is said by (someone)” , and “to have (a specified opinion)”.  I chose this word, or rather it chose me.  My parents gave me a Christmas present wrapped in a beautiful gift bag with this  word on it.  The exclamation point demanded my immediate attention, and it contains two of my favorite colors – red and black.

060

 

 

 

A dear friend gently mentioned last year how my lack of belief in myself holds me back.  It was a painful truth to hear at the time.  As I continued to reflect on this, I realized that it is true.  I doubt myself all the time – as a wife, especially as a mom, as a friend, as a professional, as a writer, as a runner.  Doubt permeates so much of my entire life.  I feel like I could never be enough.  In a month I will be thirty-nine.  I want to enter my forties with an unshakeable belief in myself.  I have these two amazing little girls who look to me as their role model.  How can I teach them to believe in themselves if I constantly doubt myself?  I will strive for practicing self-kindness and kick that critical, judgemental voice in my head to the curb.

 

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to One Word: Believe

  1. John says:

    I think my word is going to be “less.”

    So far, in 2015, I’ve taken a step back and have decided that there is just “too much” in my life. There is so much, I fear, that I don’t cherish all there is, just because there’s other stuff, stuffed in. So I’m going with less . . . my goal for the year is to have less, so that the stuff that I do have is cherished all the more.

  2. Ruth says:

    I have found that letting go of perfectionism has helped me believe in myself. Nobody’s perfect, which makes it impossible to believe I am. Looking forward to your year of believing in yourself and growing self confidence!

  3. Laura says:

    I’m very much with you on this. I think I usually phrase it as a “fear of failure”, but I think we’re describing the same thing. Sounds like a great word for the year!

  4. ace1028 says:

    I love this as a choice of a word. It’s perfect and fits so much. Believe. In you. In so much. Agreed.

Leave a Reply

