Fitness Fridays: Self-care Is Not Selfish

003I could repeat this title to myself over and over in hopes that it would sink in.  In the depths of my postpartum depression and my postpartum anxiety, I could not fathom doing anything that did not involve my husband or my daughters.  I felt so much guilt about being a working mom that I did not want to spend any time apart from my family.  I was hyper attached and miserable.  In order to be the wife and mom I want to be for my family, I need time to myself.  I need time to be physically active, and I need time to nourish my creativity.  Fitting in exercise and time to journal or write seemed like an insurmountable challenge to me at the time.

Now my husband and my daughters force me out the door on weekends to get in a run or a workout if I start to become irritable.  Fitness has made such a difference in my life and my mental health.  I can run or sweat out my frustration and my anxiety. I have found a fantastic group about local mamas who are runners.  We meet up to run together a few times a week.  These women inspire me, and I so wish I had gotten to know them sooner.  I isolated myself so much when I was struggling.  The more I practice self-care, the more resilient it makes me. I keep stepping outside of my comfort zone which is where all the magic happens.

So my challenge to my readers is to try something new – take a class, join a group that you’ve always been interested in, submit your writing, audition for a show, read at a poetry slam, take a new exercise class.  I would love to hear all about it.

P.S.  It was my week over at Postpartum Progress.  The lovely Becky Schroeder of Sunny Imperfections posted this, and A’Driane Nieves of Butterfly Confessions shared a survey to help increase our outreach to moms of color and underserved communities.  Then I closed out the week with a post of my own.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Health and fitness, postpartum depression, self care and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fitness Fridays: Self-care Is Not Selfish

  1. John says:

    I still feel a tremendous amount of guilt whenever I do anything “for myself.” Lately, I’ve actually felt myself burning out over time . . . I’m trying to do too much at home, yet there are two nights a week that I’m “by myself” (symphony rehearsal & band practice), and I’m at the office from 7-4 almost every weekday.

    The thing is, you really can’t take care of anyone else if you don’t take care of yourself . . . but, darn, does taking care of oneself get difficult, from time to time.

  2. Charity says:

    I said amen many times reading this. My family also kicks me out when I start to get too edgy. Congrats on being on Postpartum Progress.

Leave a Reply

