In honor of a WWII veteran

MyGrandpa Pody late paternal grandfather, John L. Pody, served as part of the Army Corps of Engineers during World War II.  He in the Aleutian Islands just off of Alaska.  His skill in fishing and hunting helped keep his fellow soldiers warm and dry throughout the harsh Alaskan weather.  He also got reprimanded for hunting seal while on guard duty, so he wasn’t always an angel.  He did not talk much about his time in the service.  I tried to engage him in storytelling, but he preferred to talk about his family.

Grandpa loved to tell stories about his children, his grandchildren, and his beloved wife, my grandma Marie.  He seemed calm amid the chaos of a busy household.  The noise and the commotion never seemed to bother him. My grandpa was most at home in the outdoors, hunting and fishing. I spent hours with him in nature.

He made such a huge difference in my life. Grandpa helped a nervous first time mom feel more confident in my decision to nurse when he mentioned that my grandma nursed all seven of her children. I felt like someone important to me validated this decision.

When I suffered the loss of a dear friend, I went to be with my grandpa to regroup. We didn’t talk much. We just fished. I needed the company and presence of someone who would not hover. My parents are amazing, but they tend to hover when I’m in crisis. At that time I needed quiet to reflect and grieve. My grandpa and his cabin did just that.

When my husband and I got engaged at my grandpa’s cabin, Grandpa spent an hour talking to us about his marriage with my grandma. His advice on marriage was invaluable. It brought tears to my eyes when I heard the love that he felt for her. I knew then that I had made the right choice to marry my husband. Thank you Grandpa for your service and your unconditional love!

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in storytelling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In honor of a WWII veteran

  1. Pat Holland says:

    Enjoyed your post about your grandpa. He must have been a terrific gentleman. I also wanted to tell you, my father-in-law was also stationed in the Aleutian islands. He later told us about how cold and miserable it was there and how they occasionally got ‘scraffed “/ sp. by the enemy. He was in the army and had something to do with setting up ?communications. Wondered if any possibility could have been in the same unit? I”ll as my husband which unit he was in!

Leave a Reply

