Fall purge

Winter is coKeep Calm and Get Organizedming to Wisconsin; we woke up to snow on Halloween morning! We spent our weekend preparing for winter.  We raked the lawn, and we started cleaning out our closets.  My girls both had their birthdays, and we knew it was time to clean out the clutter.  It is time to make room now before the holiday season gets any closer.

I never thought of myself as a neat freak, but chaos exacerbates my anxiety.  Clutter to me feels like chaos.  If my external environment is out of control, how can I keep my internal environment in control?  Mix in an artistic Munch who adores creating art – origami, Wonder Loom, Weaving Loom, jewelry making, painting, drawing, and making her own books.  Munch’s room is her sanctuary from her little sister, Skeeter.  Skeeter adores her big sister, and she wants to do everything she does.  My sweet Munch values her down time as a time to read and create.  I want Munch to have her sanctuary, but I also want to be able to walk into her room without stepping on a project or tripping over toys.

The compromise that my amazing husband suggested was to come up with a list of  projects that we can work on as a family to clean and organize throughout the winter.  I know that I am guilty of storing things in both girls’ closets, and I want to bring those projects back into our room.  When a project is out of sight, it is out of mind for me.  I am hopeful and confident that we can make a dent in purging some of our gently used toys, clothing and books to donate to those in need.  We are so blessed, and I want my girls to realize how blessed they are with material possessions.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fall purge

  1. Melisa Wells says:

    YES!!! CLUTTER = CHAOS
    I am all for the declutter. It brings peace!

Leave a Reply

