Fitness Fridays: Maintaining my Mojo

So I have a confession to maFitness is 20% exercise and 80% nutritionke.  I’m struggling with the nutrition part again.  I am consuming too much caffeine, and I am turning to the sweets again.  Sweets and sugar filled coffee drinks (whipped cream, caramel sauce) are my weaknesses in times of stress.  I also gave into the dark side of chips again.  Yep.  In return my body rebelled against all the processed food.  I had a heartburn flare up.

So I am turning this ship around.  I am continuing to maintain my focus on exercising, but I am increasing my efforts on eating healthier.  I feel so much better when I eat a wide variety of fruits and vegetables and just a small amount of treats.  If you are interested, join me and help hold me accountable.  I slack off if I don’t have friends to hold me accountable.  I know that the holidays are quickly approaching, and I know where my current slippery slope is heading – dreaded holiday weight gain.  Eating well is a critical part of my self-care.  I need to take care of myself, and I do that through proper nutrition, plenty of sleep, and lots of exercise.  Come help a gal out so she maintains instead of gains during the holiday season!

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fitness Fridays: Maintaining my Mojo

  1. Ruth says:

    The eating part isn’t so bad for me, it’s the consistent exercise that I struggle with. I want to help. What can I do?

    • I’m working on cutting down caffeine to one drink a day. I need to talk walks to avoid the vending machine. It’s the mindless snacking that trips me up. Lets make a deal. You help me stay on track with eating well. I can help you fit in more movement throughout the day.

  2. Charity says:

    I find the exercise so much easier than the eating. But I have noticed, in very little ways, that my eating is improving. 5 days no candy corn. That is huge for me. You know I am always a text or phone call away.

  3. John says:

    This is right in my wheelhouse! I am feeling better than I EVER have (though I still consume far too much caffeine), and the reason is because I’ve been eating clean (most would point to my work-outs, because I’m so vocal about them, but the real reason I’m feeling good is because I’m eating well).

    Are you on My Fitness Pal? Or any other diet tracking app? Before I eat or drink anything aside from water, green tea, iced tea, or black coffee, I log it into MFP — so that I see “this is what I’m about to ingest, it’s this percentage of my budgeted calories,” and I can chose to not eat it, if I know it won’t be worth it.

    • John, I got back to tracking on My Fitness Pal. It is helping me be more mindful of my eating habits. I had been doing great at clean eating, and then I just stopped tracking and let life get in the way.

Leave a Reply

