This is Seven

013Munch,

You are seven now.  Your birthday was just six days ago. It feels like just yesterday that you were born. I struggle with finding the balance between giving you independence and keeping you sheltered.  Seven looks like sending my sweet girl to a lock in party at her dance studio until 9:30 p.m. You are welcome for letting you stay up way past your bedtime on your birthday night.  Thank you sweetie for letting me know gently when you are confident enough to spread your wings.  This mama wants to keep her big girl little for just a bit more.  My tendency is to swoop in and hover.

You value your quiet time to read and create, and you have shown so much maturity in letting us know that you need that time to decompress.  Your kindness and empathy know no bounds.  Your creativity blossoms forth in your science experiments, your reading, your artwork, and your dancing.  You lose yourself in books just like me. Sometimes I call you Jennifer because some of your personality traits remind me so much of myself.  It is with love that I do that.  We both need to decompress at the end of the night by recapping our entire day.  I feel like you sometimes save up all your words for the end of the night.  I treasure that time to really connect and listen to your hopes, your dreams, and your fears.

Munch, you made Daddy and I parents.  Thank you for showing us unconditional love and a boundless capacity for forgiveness.  As the oldest child, you are our guinea pig.  We make lots of mistakes, and we continue to learn how to be the best mom and dad for you. Happy belated birthday!

Love,

Mama

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This is Seven

  1. Dyane Harwood says:

    I think that seven is such a special age; my daughter is seven too and she looks like me and has many of my personality traits as well. This is beautifully written with so much love in it! Print it out and put it in a “Munch” folder (if you haven’t already done so) – Munch will treasure it in the years to come!

    xo Dyane

  2. John says:

    Happy Happy birthday, little one!

Leave a Reply

