Virtual hugs

If you have breath then you have hopeOne of the most popular posts on my blog is where I discuss my intrusive thoughts. The majority of search terms that come up for my blog are questions about intrusive thoughts. I wish I could soar through the ethernet and give a real hug to the mama who is desperately searching for answers. I want to take her hand and look in her eyes to let her know that it will be okay. You will get better, I promise.

I remember barely daring to hope that it would get better. Yael, Robin, Lauren, Katherine, and so many other friends promised that it would. They were right. I remember wanting to believe their words. I read blogs that inspired me with their messages of hope and perseverance.  I clung to those words and those stories.  I dared to hope.  I got better.  It took lots of work on myself.  I went to therapy, and I participated in online support groups.  I read as much as I could on postpartum mood disorders.  I took, and I still take medication.  I did not give up on myself, and I kept hoping that I would get better.

Baby steps, small wins and small successes are how we Warrior Moms measure recovery.  Celebrate each one along the way.  Recognize when you begin to recognize and appreciate the beauty and love all around you.  When you notice how beautiful your child is and how lyrical their laugh is, that is a sign of recovery.  Know this.  You are not alone.  You will get well.  There is help.  Never give up hope.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in postpartum depression and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Virtual hugs

  1. Ruth says:

    Sing it, sister! I would not have made it through without the words of others’ words that virtually hugged me.

  2. Thank you, Jen! I needed this today. The power of community is so real and is still a necessary part of my ongoing recovery.

    • The community was and continues to be such a vital part of my commitment to my mental well-being. It is so hard to articulate to people sometimes just how powerful that sense of community is.

  3. Charity says:

    And steps backward are okay. They hurt, they are scary, but they are okay. As long as you never give up on yourself, you are making progress.

    • YES. Thank you so much Charity. Sometimes it’s a couple steps backwards. You regain your footing and keep on keeping on. I get down on myself a lot, but I don’t give up on myself.

Leave a Reply

