Fitness Fridays: A Day Before the Big Race

026I’m staring down a deadline of twenty-four hours until my first 10K ever.  I am feeling nervous and excited!  All my clothes for race day are washed and dried.  My shoes are currently drying out from my final run.  I am trying desperately not to stare at the weather channel all day long to determine exactly what the temperature will be at the start of this race.  Also I am not a morning person by nature.  This race starts at 7:00 a.m.  Eek! I will have all the alarms on to make sure that I arrive early.  I am feeling the nervous buzz of anticipation.  This will also be a big crowd – 6000 racers.  I will need to practice lots of self-care (music and yoga) so that I am not overwhelmed by the crowds.  I know that physically and mentally I am ready for this race.  I cannot say enough about the amazing staff at PRO in Brookfield, with a special shout out to Micaela.  Running has been such an part of my self-care routine.  I have reconnected with friends and family, and I have made new connections through running.  I’ll share all the details next week!  It is so amazing to set a goal that is way outside of my comfort zone and to know that tomorrow I will be accomplishing it.

 

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fitness Fridays: A Day Before the Big Race

  1. John says:

    You’ve got this🙂

    Can’t wait to read all about it next week.

    • Thank you John! I’m super excited! We run into Miller Park, and our face gets beamed up onto the Jumbotron. Remember to smile at the end of the race, right? Otherwise I’ll be making the runner’s grimace.

  2. dyane says:

    Good luck – I know you’ll have a blast!!! :)))

Leave a Reply

