#ClimbOut Team Baraboo Climb Recap

I cannot believe it has been over two weeks since my sweet girls and my amazing husband joined me on a hike.  We had a family wedding the weekend of the climb, so I decided we would take advantage of the destination wedding and hike at Devil’s Lake State Park in Baraboo.  I believe so deeply in this cause that I enlisted my immediate family’s support to hike with me and for my recovery.  This hike was also complicated by the fact that I was one of the soloists for the family wedding.  I scheduled our hike early in the morning so that it would not interfere with any of the wedding plans.  I struggled for so long, and I saw this hike as a way to continue my healing journey.

I loved walking through the serene bluffs.  I felt so many emotions that morning as I saw all the tweets, photos and Facebook messages on my social media feeds: gratitude, admiration, joy, sorrow and triumph.  I knew that I was not alone in my hike.  I was walking in spirit with warrior moms around the world.

At the wedding, they talked about the bluff being a sacred space.  Nature reconnects me to my innermost self.  Thank you to my husband for being my rock as I struggled for nearly two years until I finally got the help I needed.  Thank you to my sweet girls for showing me unconditional love.  To my fellow Warrior Mamas, thank you for reaching out a hand to a mama who was drowning.

I climbed for myself.  I climbed for my daughters so that they won’t suffer needlessly.  I climbed for several family members who have struggled with postpartum mood disorders.  I climbed for my nieces, my cousins and my friends.  I climbed to honor all the Warrior mamas past, present and future.  I climbed to honor the struggles of two mamas who are still struggling and in memory of their sweet babies who were lost to this deadly disease.  I climbed to raise awareness that this is NOT just a women’s health issue.  This affects families and our communities.

DSC02494 DSC02505 022010

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in postpartum depression and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

