Fitness Fridays: Running and sprinting

Nearly a week ago I ran in my second 5k of this year. The course is full of hills, similar to my normal training runs. I experimented this time with really resting my legs the week of the race. I worked out, but I did lower impact. My final run before the race was a nice, easy two mile run. This approach paid when I ran a personal best of 31:42 with an average pace of 10:14. I continued with my tradition of sprinting the last quarter mile which felt amazing. Those afterburners kicked in. I’m still a sprinter at heart.

20140704-224939.jpg

I started today off with a five mile run with some amazing local runners. These ladies push me every time I run with them. I am challenged by the pace that we set and the route we run. The majority of the group trains for half marathons. I happened to mention that I was never a distance runner. I excelled in sprinting. So Sini and Jen challenged me to sprint the last quarter mile. I had forgotten until recently how amazing sprinting makes me feel. It is like I’m an eagle, ready to soar. Our average pace today was just under ten minutes. I received some feedback that I need to continue to build up my endurance. My pace could be even quicker.

Who inspires and motivates you with your health and fitness?

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fitness Fridays: Running and sprinting

  1. Congrats, Jenny! I’d like to get into 5k’s again. I ran 3 last year, but my form is so bad that I messed up my knees. Lately yoga has been my go-to.

    • Huge hugs Jenn. I started training through a local running store, and that helped me with my form. Turns out I point my toes to one o’clock just like the ballerina I once was. I have to work on pointing my toes straight so that I don’t hurt my knees and hips. Yoga is my go to for stretching and lengthening those muscles that got so tight after running. I am incorporating a new cross training class to my routine – PiYo. I am loving it.

  2. dyane says:

    I’m a former A.C.E. (American Council on Exercise) certified personal trainer, 10-K runner/weight lifter/P.A.C.E. circuit training instructor. While I loved teaching circuit training classes and motivating my clients, I moved on from the fitness field once I married my husband and became a mother.

    These days I have a very different life when it comes to fitness routines. After working in a gym for years, I no longer belong to one!šŸ™‚ I looooove my NordicTrack elliptical, which I am so lucky to have, and when I use it I often read blog posts and listen to disco music & get a fantastic workout. We have tons of gorgeous hiking trails in our local state parks that are great for hiking as well.

    My psychiatrist suggests to his patients that they work out every single day for 20-30 minutes, and I’ve been able to do that for the most part. Working out helps me stabilize my bipolar disorder symptoms along with taking meds religiously, sleep etc. Fear of bipolar relapse is the great motivator for me!šŸ™‚ All the other benefits are just icing on the cake.

    • Dyane, exercise has been so crucial for me as I move further down the park of recovery. I can use different workouts to help channel my feelings. The benefits are what keep me going. I wish I loved the treadmill. It makes me so dizzy. G

Leave a Reply

