Fitness Friday: My mini trainers

I had no idea how much of an influence my journey towards health and fitness had on my little ladies.  Munch and Skeeter are my biggest cheerleaders and my most ruthless personal trainers.  After getting in an abbreviated two-mile run the other day due to a thunderstorm, my girls insisted that we do a few hills.  We live at the bottom of a hill, so I run this hill as my warm-up.  After a fast run, I did not have much energy left in my reserves at all, but their enthusiasm was contagious.  Munch was able to run up the hill and down the hill like a gazelle.  Skeeter ran halfway up the hill and then demanded to be carried up the rest of the hill and back down. She wanted so desperately to keep up with her big sister.  Now everything has become a race in our house – a race down the stairs for breakfast, a race out the door, a race to the car, and finally a race into school.  When I realized what an impact my running had on my girls, this made my heart so happy.  Never underestimate the power of your actions on your children.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fitness Friday: My mini trainers

  1. It was a great experience around here when I was exercising well to have my girls encouraging me and asking me when my next race was. Then, when I stopped, it stunk having them ask. Now, I am trying to get back to it. It’s a middle of the road issue whether it drives me crazy or makes me smile.

  2. I love this. I love that they’re feeling it with you. I need you to rub off on me, though, girl. I’m flailing and just not getting there. Maybe soon – but can you move in w. me for a while?😉 xo

    • I would love to move in with you. I have days where I am not feeling very motivated either. I have a few accountability buddies that I text. If you want to exchange numbers, I can help keep you and I both accountable. 🙂

  3. John says:

    Much the same happens here — it’s amazing to see just how much stuff rubs off on the kids. In the past, there have been random times that I’ve just gone out for a daytime run, and the kids will run the last little bit with me (it’s always a real race, but I fear the 6 months that CJ has on his sister keep the race from being much of a contest). When we ran the color-run, though, I was truly mystified. I brought my jogging stroller, and I fully planned to push a significant amount of weight across the entire course . . . but the kids were out of the stroller far more than they were in it. And when they were out, they were either running or trying their best to run (it was a VERY hilly 5k).

    Moreso, I’ve noticed both children trying to do headstands (I try to do a headstand or a wall handstand, or a frog stand, for several minutes every morning, just to see the world from a different perspective). If they catch me doing push-ups, they do push-ups with me.

    It’s pretty cool.

    • It is so awesome when the kids try to work out. We were out of town for a family wedding, and my daughter’s favorite part of the weekend was her dad doing a handstand in the pool. We went hiking, and the oldest walked/ran the whole way which was just over a mile. The littlest walked part of the way and then she said that her legs were too tired.

Leave a Reply

