Why I Am a Proud Warrior Mom

I find it difficult to articulate at times how amazing my online tribe of friends is.  I have met only a handful of these amazing women in real life.  This community sustained me at my lowest point of my entire life.  Each of them in turn has given guidance, inspiration, encouragement, and hope.  Hope is akin to a life-preserver for a warrior mom.  Anxiety threatened to drown me.  I felt like I choked on the electric current of anxiety always revving my body at one hundred miles an hour.  I felt like a hamster on wheel, just chasing my tail.

One of my greatest honors as a blogger is being a member of the Warrior Mom Leadership team.  I am part of the editorial team on Postpartum Progress.  I believe in this cause with all my heart.  I know that hearing other’s stories changed my life, and I know that my story has impacted others.

I am asking my friends, my family, and my readers to support me as I participate in the Climb Out of Darkness to benefit Postpartum Progress.  The climb is Held on or near the longest day of the year, women around the world climb, hike or walk to signify climbing out of the darkness of perinatal mood and anxiety disorders and into the light.    My local warrior mom friends are climbing near my house in an amazing location that  I hiked on Mother’s Day with a fellow warrior mom.  I will be at a family wedding the weekend of the climb, so I will be climbing with my husband and daughters at Devil’s Lake State Park in Baraboo, Wisconsin.  Please donate to my fundraiser for Postpartum Progress.  I am part of the 1 in 7.  One in seven pregnant and new moms will have a perinatal mood or anxiety disorder.  The mission of Postpartum Progress is to give new families a stronger start by increasing awareness of perinatal mood and anxiety disorders and providing tools that connect moms to treatment.  As little as $10 will keep the Postpartum Progress website running for one day; this website is the most widely read blog on postpartum mood disorders.  Katherine’s tireless advocacy for struggling mamas is apparent through all of her posts, her tweet,s and her presence.  The first time I met her – the woman whose website saved my life, I cried tears of relief, gratitude, and joy.  The hug from a fellow Warrior Mom is like none other.  It is that life affirming hug of “me too”, and “you will be okay”.  Please donate to this amazing cause so that all of our daughters, nieces, cousins, friends, and grandchildren are aware of the symptoms of postpartum mood disorders. Mamas and their families all over the world deserve more.

TEAMBARABOO14 (1)

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in postpartum depression and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I Am a Proud Warrior Mom

  1. Love and Support from one warrior mom to another xox

Leave a Reply

