Fitness Fridays: Why I Exercise

I made the commitment last year to focus on my physical health.  A lot of my self-care is exercise.  I have two young daughters who look up to me.  With a family history of high cholesterol, heart disease, and type II diabetes, exercise and eating healthy is part of my lifestyle.  I have my daughters feel my arm muscles.  We talk about how exercise keeps us healthy.  I talk openly about weight lifting.  I tell my girls that lifting weights makes me stronger.  I no longer have sciatica after nearly six years of struggling with it while pregnant and postpartum.  That freedom from pain was due to building strength back up in my core.

I am in the final months of my diabetes prevention class.  We are on the maintenance plan now which is fantastic.  When I look back to where I was, the difference is staggering.  I love coaching soccer, and i find that I am barely winded after our warm ups.  I could run all day long.  I can exercise and lead the exercises without getting winded.  The difference in my overall cardio endurance, my strength, and my flexibility is 180 degrees different.  I love knowing that I am not only a role model for my own daughters but for the little girls that I coach.  Making a difference in the lives of others is what I am passionate about.  I want daughters and mothers to be healthy in all aspects of their lives – mental, physical and spiritual.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Health and fitness, self care and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fitness Fridays: Why I Exercise

  1. So proud of you. I need to get myself focused and my butt in gear.

Leave a Reply

