Magic in Small Moments

I heard an amazing leader speak about the choices we make each day.  We have a choice on how we respond to what happens to us.  That message really spoke to me, and it has settled into my soul.  The morning rush is exactly that.  I am the drill sergeant, begging, pleading, cajoling and finally yelling at my girls to just get dressed, eat breakfast, and brush their teeth.

The other morning, I had an early morning conference call at 7:30 a.m.  My plan was to get Munch dropped off at school and Skeeter dropped off at daycare just before the call started.  The best laid plans never manage to work out that way.  I got on the call a few minutes late after dropping Munch off.  I reminded Skeeter that I had to talk to my friends, Miss S. and Mr. E.  We refer to my colleagues as friends since my girls do not quite understand that not everyone you work with is not automatically your friend.

I began the call as all three of us on this particular project started giving each other status updates.  During the middle of Mr. E’s updates, Skeeter began to sing.  She sang several camp songs – Sticky Bubble Gum, You Are My Sunshine and If All the Little Raindrops. I chose to focus on the beauty and purity of her spirit rather than getting upset over her interruption of my conference call.  She is only three.  She knows that music soothes the savage beast that is her mother before her daily caffeine fix.  In return, it melted the hearts of my colleagues to hear a sweet little voice singing in the background.  Thank you my sweet Skeeter for reminding me of how you were only be little for such a short time.  I cherish our car rides and your beautiful singing.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting, traveling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Magic in Small Moments

  1. Colleen says:

    That *is* beautiful. Kudos to you for letting what I’m sure was originally frustration go in order to see that moment for what it was.🙂

Leave a Reply

