Fitness Fridays: Still on a Race High

 

 

 

 

Garys GallopI am still beaming two weeks after my race.  I felt exhilarated and confident.  Running has given me so much.  It has become a moving meditation, an effective weapon in my self-care toolbox, and a new-found respect for my body.  I can do so much more physically than I ever thought.  I am an athlete, and I am still a sprinter at heart.  My friend to the right of me in the picture was one of my pace partners throughout our ten week training class at PRO.

As someone who is wound very tight, I entered race day, feeling excited, nervous and calm all at the same time.  Meredith, my pace partner, and I ran nearly the entire race together.  I felt really easy and free.  I talked most of the race, so I knew that the pace we had set was comfortable.  Once we got into the stadium, Meredith told me to kick it in gear if I had anything left.  I had been practicing sprinting the last 100 yards or so on our group runs.  I knew that I had a quarter-mile left, but my legs felt really fresh.  I just opened up my stride and sprinted.  I felt like I was flying.  I passed up quite a few people who kicked my competitive juices into gear even more.  I had forgotten how much I loved to really sprint.

 

 

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fitness Fridays: Still on a Race High

  1. dyane says:

    Congratulations!!! It’s wonderful to read about all the positive things that training and racing have given you!! Yay! :)))) And what a great photo to remind you about such a momentous event!

  2. Poppy says:

    I have been running most of my adult life and the only time I ever experience the elusive “runner’s high” is the sprint at the end of the race. Congrats on your race, what are you training for next?

    • I think I experienced more of the calming effects of running rather than the runner’s high until the end of the race sprint. I’m planning on doing a few more 5ks through the summer. I plan on joining the 10k training program through our local running store in the middle of the summer for a 10k in September and an 8k in October. I have the bug bad!

Leave a Reply

