Fitness Fridays: Stretching My Comfort Zone

Holiday Fitness Challenge FB BannerMy health and fitness journey reminds me of my journey to recovery from my postpartum depression and postpartum anxiety.  This journey is setbacks and plateaus.  I had hit a plateau last year.  I had been exercising consistently, but I was not seeing any progress.

I realized that I needed to make a change.  A fitness rut had been my undoing.  I was not pushing myself to my full potential.  I had been doing the same types of activities without seeing results.  My friend, Kira, posted on Facebook about starting up an accountability group.  I messaged her, and we chatted back and forth.  I wanted not only to lose weight, but I wanted to tone up my muscle tone.  After two C-sections, my core strength was non-existent.

Cue the amazing Les Mills Body Pump program.  I had no idea lifting weights would make me sweat as much as doing a boot camp workout.  I also tried out a meal replacement vitamin shake – Shakeology.  The workouts varied, and I was never bored.  I constantly challenged myself by adding more weights as I became stronger.  I am blessed with a onsite fitness center at work, but free weights at the gym have always intimidated me.  I stand a mere five feet, barely two inches.  When I began, all I could lift was a twelve pound weighted bar and a pair of five-pound dumbbells.  I can do Body Pump in the privacy of my home after my girls have gone to bed for the night.

The support I received from Kira and my fellow teammates was infectious.  I started taking post workout selfies.  I noticed a change in how my clothes fit, and I noticed a difference in my energy level.  I felt so energetic.  I was able to quit taking my daily dose of probiotics, and my microscopic colitis flares disappeared within a month of drinking Shakeology on a daily basis.

After two months in her challenge groups, Kira talked to me about the opportunity to become a Beachbody coach.  I love the products, and I love to help people.  I feel that the missing piece of my recovery and a key component in my self-care arsenal is physical exercise.  I wanted to give back to my friends and family the same type of support and encouragement that I received.  I took a leap of faith, and I became a coach myself.  I have learned so much more about myself as an individual, and a team of like-minded fitness enthusiasts who are passionate about helping others lead healthy lives surrounds me.

Full disclosure: I am an Independent Team Beachbody Coach.

 

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in Health and fitness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

