Fitness Fridays: Getting My Run On

Jen post runI’m introducing a new feature on the blog for Fridays: Fitness Fridays.  As part of my continuing journey towards health and wellness, I had this vague goal of “running more consistently”.  My cousin kept encouraging me last year to join a training program.  Finally I took her up on her advice, and I joined a ten week training program through Performance Running Outfitters.  This 5K training program has been so fantastic.  We have weekly group runs as we gradually build up our endurance and our distance.  The staff is so helpful, and I receive individual attention on my running gait, nutrition and form.  I feel more at ease when I run now as I incorporate all the lessons I have learned.

This program is even sweeter because my cousin is one of the amazing mentors in this program.  I am paired up with more experienced running mentors  on our group runs.  I look forward to Wednesday nights since it’s my only group run.  My other runs are solo runs where I get to decompress and just think and breathe.  Running has allowed me to stretch my physical limits as well as tapping into running as an act of meditation.

I know you’re all giving me the side eye.  I have become one of “those” runners.  Running and exercise in general help me restart my day or my night just through the simple act of putting one foot in front of the other and just breathing.  Running is as effective for my self-care as getting enough sleep, eating right and taking my medication.  I definitely found the runner’s high, and I crave it.  Running helps me feel more comfortable in my skin, and I am a better mother because I run.  Now I race both Munch and Skeeter into their respective schools in the morning. It is a close race most days, but one day I will beat them both!

 

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in postpartum depression and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fitness Fridays: Getting My Run On

  1. dyane says:

    I am so proud of you! Long ago I used to be an American Council on Exercise certified personal trainer (you can roll your eyes!) but seriously, I believe in the power of exercise so much. I was a runner before knee surgery happened, and running was so good for my mood & sleep! I loved it! The 10K races I did were challenging but very fulfilling too. Good luck in your program – you can’t go wrong having your cousin be one of the mentors. It is meant to be!

    • I didn’t know that you were a certified personal trainer. That is fantastic. I love the personal trainers at my fitness center at work. They are so amazing. I believe that exercise is critical for my mental health and well-being. It truly was meant to be. I have two more group runs before our race on the 12th! I can’t wait!

  2. jamesandjax says:

    I’m proud of you, too! I admire that you prioritize self-care. I’m kind of floundering in that department these days. I feel as if I have no time for any of the things I used to count as self-care (including blogging and working out, primarily). Love you & amazed by you always. xo

    • Jaime, I still struggle with making time for my writing. I have prioritized time with my girls and reading as a way to relax myself, but I am not compromising on the exercising. That is a must for me now. I have had to make it a lifestyle change for me. I have been blessed that my husband and the girls are super supportive. Love you. xoxo

  3. Becky says:

    This is really inspiring! One day throughout my postpartum depression I thought of trying to learn how to be a runner. I craved that runner’s high everyone talks about. Maybe I’ll have to give it another shot!

    • Becky, I started out so slow at first. It took me a while to build up my endurance. Now I have found that runner’s high and that feeling of relaxation that I only found before through yoga. I’d love to meet up and go for a walk/run with you.

  4. Good for you!!! I can’t run but I do walk every day and it is amazing how it lifts up your spirits…while keeping them ass muscles sort of looking like they aren’t sagging down your legs🙂

    • I do like the side effect of having a tighter booty for sure. Walking at a quick pace can give me the same benefits as running. Just being out in the fresh air is invigorating. Note to self: check the temperature before runs. Frostbite on fingers in March is not cool. 🙂

  5. Lindsau says:

    I chuckled when I read the line “one of those runners.” I entered into this space about a year ago and I no longer have any shame. Running gives me such joy. I love the solidarity of it and the community feel when passing other runners or, during a race. Have you checked out Another Mother Runner (authors Run like a mother)? Great resource. Run on Jen!

    • Hooray! I found another running groupie. I have checked out that website. I’m hoping to buy their books as well. They look amazing. Run on Lindsay! Hopefully we’ll end up at a race together sometime this summer. I’m still finalizing what other runs I will do.

  6. jess says:

    HOORAY! Such an amazing goal and so proud of you. I’m inspired and can’t wait to join you for Fitness Fridays!

    • Thank you so much Jess! You inspired me with the Disney half. I don’t think that I am up for a half marathon. Still working on 5ks and a possible 8k in the fall. I am intrigued by doing the 10K Disney run. Still thinking on that one.

Leave a Reply

