My exercise posse

I’m the youngest by twelve years. I am in a different season of life; they are empty nesters or going through menopause. Yet we all fit together. We are a team of four united in our mutual desire to make lasting changes in our fitness. We met in a boot camp group at work.  I had read that you need to find workout buddies, and I always had the excuse that I could not find anyone.  Then I found my posse. 

We have been working together through two boot camps and personal training sessions.  These three women inspire me to work harder and push past my comfort level.  My nickname is Speedy.  I was given this nickname when I rediscovered my absolute joy in running line drills and doing speed intervals at boot camp.  I was not in the best shape, but I was the fastest.  I learned to love the strength training with my peers because Lee always challenge me to do the most difficult moves.  Instead of push ups on our knees, we do regular full-on push-ups.  Carrie is our group cheerleader; she radiates positivity and determination at every session.  Joy is the funny one; she keeps the mood light when I feel like giving up.  We frequently get chastised for chatting too much while working out.  I get the extra benefit of laughing while working out.  The only time that I have missed a workout with my posse is when I have taken a sick day to be with one of my girls.  I am always dashing into the fitness center just in the nick of time.  One of the posse will always grab the weights, medicine ball or mats for me.  I am spoiled and doted on by this group.  I feel so blessed to have found them.  If I had not decided to do boot camp this summer, I never would have gotten to know these amazing women.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in self care and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My exercise posse

  1. Congratulations on your commitment to health and wellness.

    • Thank you Ana Clare. Once I took care of my mind and soul, I realized that I was missing my physical self on my journey towards recovery. Exercise has become a huge component of my self-care routine.

  2. story3girl says:

    Love you and so proud of you, Speedy.

Leave a Reply

