Autumn Transitions

The autumn months of September and October have been a huge transition for our entire family. Munch began attending all day kindergarten, and she is attending childcare at her school. Skeeter is now the only one at our beloved daycare and preschool. Both girls started dance class the week after Labor Day. My husband and I are still getting into the hang of scheduling, multiple pick ups and drop offs, packing lunches, making breakfast, and the paperwork. Holy cow! I did not realize how much more paperwork elementary school required. Still I look around at this orderly chaos, and I smile to myself. We are doing this. We are making it work and calling in favors. My freshly retired parents helped us out in the middle of October while I attended all day training for the second half of the week. I feel so blessed.  My house has never been so clean for so long.  Thanks Mom and Dad!

October brought with it birthdays, planning, parent-teacher conferences, soccer and homework.  Skeeter was delighted that her big sister got to spend some quality time with her back at daycare.  We made a scheduling choice.  When Munch has full days off, she will go with Skeeter to our full-time daycare.  This saves us from making two trips on those days.  I continue to be amazed at how we all manage to get out the door in a somewhat orderly fashion.  I’m not looking forward to negotiating all the winter clothing this year.  Time marches on, and we need to roll with the changes as best we can. 

My approach to change needs work.  I love change management and all the organizational theories.  I was a super geek in my communication theory classes.  The lesson holds true: that it looks easy to carry out in theory, but it is hell to put into practice.  I am trying to be more mindful of how I react to change and how the girls react to change.  They look to my husband and I for models.  I love to change, but change is a slow process.  Adjusting to a new routine takes time and patience.  Patience is not my strongest skill by a long shot.  I will be sitting here, reading away to instill more patience into my life.  When I come up with the magic bullet answer, I will let you all know.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Autumn Transitions

  1. Jessica says:

    We will be sitting waiting w bated breath because I got the same problem. But I do know the first step is to be forgiving of yourself

Leave a Reply

