Coach Jenny

After nearly nine years, I picked up my coach’s whistle again. This time I am not coaching middle school girls in basketball. I am coaching kids’ soccer through our local soccer club. My husband and I are coaching kids ages three to six. It is a four week program that introduces the kids to the basics of soccer.

I had such an amazing experience coaching the little ones. I learned so much about the fundamentals of soccer. I learned as much from my young players as they learned from me. I learned persistence, determination and patience.

I realized that I was seen as a role model for all the girls. I am the only female coach in our group of eight coaches. My husband coaches Munch and the other five and six year olds. I coached Skeeter and the other three and four year olds. Seeing myself reflected as a role model in the girls’ eyes made me really think about how I present myself daily to my daughters. I hope to instill kindness, determination, strength, grace and humor. Thank you to all my amazing soccer players. I will see you all in the spring! Coach Jenny can’t wait to do it again!

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting, self care and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coach Jenny

  1. jess says:

    I’m so proud of you! And it’s awesome that you are doing that. You guys are tough cookies because that age can be “super fun” to coach😉 I know all of those kiddos will be better for having had you as a coach. xoxo

    • Thank you so much, Jess! It is a challenging age to coach – lots of pulling up the grass on the field and not always having our listening ears on. I loved it, and I cannot wait to do it again in the spring. Also I talked another mom into coaching with me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

