Three Years Later #ForMiriam

Yesterday, October 10th was World Mental Health Day.  In memory of Miriam Carey, I raise my voice as a survivor of Postpartum Depression and Postpartum Anxiety.  Three years ago, my beautiful baby girl, Skeeter, was born on October 10, 2010.  With that auspicious beginning, I was plunged into the depths of depression and anxiety so severe that I lost thirty pounds.  I simply could not sit still.  I had to keep busy in order to keep the pain, anxiety, rage and frustration away.  I was hanging on by a thread. 

I finally found help, treatment, and medication eight months after my beautiful girl was born.  I relied on my family, my friends and the amazing community of Warrior Moms.  I feel powerless and heartbroken when I hear about tragedies.  How many more women and children do we need to lose before we take a stand and demand better mental health care?  I know that I received the care that I needed due to my job, access to health care and the access to one of the few perinatal mood disorder therapists that is in our state.  I am heartbroken and furious when I hear how many of my fellow Warrior Moms have concerns that are dismissed.  If a mama says she is struggling, listen to her.  Help her.  Do not make judgements based on her circumstances, her race, her religion, her economic background.  Mental illness does not discriminate.  So why do we? In the US, only 15% of the women struggling with postpartum mood disorders get treatment.  Miriam and I both did.  I got treatment, and I recovered.  What happened to Miriam? Were her concerns dismissed?  Was she not compliant with her treatment program?  I am keeping both her and her baby girl in my thoughts and prayers.  My prayer is that all women receive the access to the mental health care that they need.  I want a better world for my daughters and their peers.  This tragedy could have been prevented, and it starts with me.  I am speaking out now #ForMiriam.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in postpartum depression and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Three Years Later #ForMiriam

  1. Tina says:

    Well said. My thoughts exactly. xoxo

  2. Walker Karraa, PhD says:

    Reblogged this on For Miriam.

  3. Jenn says:

    You wrote what’s been on my mind, too, Jen. xo

  4. mlreads says:

    Thank you for sharing your story. Here is mine. It took me four years to say the words, “I had postpartum psychosis” instead of my standard” I suffered postpartum depression.” You can read about my experience at my blog. http://mlreads.com/2013/10/12/i-suffered-postpartum-psychosis/ #formiriam

    • Huge hugs. Thank you for sharing your story. I have a special place in my heart for all my fellow warrior mamas who have suffered from postpartum psychosis. So glad that you finally received the help you needed and that you are thriving. xoxo

Leave a Reply

