Ridin’ Dirty: Dirty Girl 2013

I had two goals in mind for this year’s Dirty Girl: to run the entire race and to complete all of the obstacles. I have spent this past year working on my cardio endurance and building up my strength.  I am very proud to say that I accomplished both obstacles.  I did walk a bit when I was coming up to an obstacle with a line. 

The obstacles were challenging, but I was not intimidated by them this year.  I knew that the hours I had put into strength training would pay off.  My balance and footing were sure, and I approached each challenge with a positive outlook.  Gone were the fears and anxiety of last year.  Gone was the self-doubt that is ever-present in my mind.  Instead I felt joy and excitement radiate. 

I knew that I could do it.  I am strong.  I am an athlete.  I am a runner.  This year was the year that I stopped making excuses for not taking charge of my physical health.  I have lost around nine pounds, and I have gained muscle and definition.  My sciatica has disappeared as I worked on strengthening my core.  After nearly three years of my second and final C-section, I feel like my core is the strongest it has been since college.  This journey towards health and fitness is similar to my recovery from postpartum depression and postpartum anxiety.  I keep taking baby steps towards wellness.  A bad day is just that, a bad day.  I have twenty-four hours each day to decide what I want to accomplish.  I hear my inner critic attack my self-esteem and my body image, and then I counteract those thoughts and judgements with affirmations. 

I noticed a difference in my posture and my self-confidence.  I did not realize how far I had come until I put the two pictures side by side.  I feel fantastic.  Ahem, who doesn’t curtsy after an amazing race? 

Jen Dirty Girl 2012Jen Dirty Girl 2013

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in self care and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ridin’ Dirty: Dirty Girl 2013

  1. Congratulations on completing that race, Jen! And, great to meet you at the Serenity Suite at BlogHer’13!

Leave a Reply

