Three is the Magic Number

I took Munch to a performance of Schoolhouse Rock Live at Soulstice.  This theatre company is very special to me.  The artistic director is a dear friend who is one of those soul mentors.  Char helped me believe in myself and my abilities at a time when the stress of work overwhelmed me.  She allowed me to see that creativity is key to my mental and emotional health.  Soulstice was a sponsor in kind of LTYM Milwaukee.  My husband and I performed in our last show (pre children) in the musical Aida seven years ago.  Munch got to see the cast picture from our show, and she picked both of us out right away. 

We settled in to watch the show after sampling a delicious cake pop before the house opened.  I love to watch Munch’s face.  Her eyes lit up once the stage lights come up.  She understands the fine art of set design and construction.  She now can talk about lighting gels with any technical director.  What can I say?  Once a theatre brat, always a theatre brat.  I love answering these theatre related questions.  I am in my element.  Munch is gravitating more towards the dance aspect of musicals now since she is a student of both tap and ballet. 

I feel this push and pull since we share so many common interests:  dance, theatre, books, and music.  I want to expose her to so much, but I do not want to push her towards doing something because I like it.  I did mention that my dance skills helped me with theatre.  I could learn choreography very quickly because of my dance background.  I hesitate to talk more about performing.  I want Munch to find something that she really loves to do.  Right now her passion is dance class.  She continues to teach me to just relax and let her guide me.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Three is the Magic Number

  1. Jessica says:

    Love that. Monkey continues to do the same. Teaching me so much

Leave a Reply

