Lifestyle changes

So I have blogged about getting back into shape.  Three months ago, I was at a weight loss plateau.  My clothes were fitting a little better, but I was not seeing much muscle definition.  I had been training with a personal trainer, and I worked out hard during those every other week workouts.  I did not push myself to my physical limits during the rest of my workouts. 

I got my A1C tested which is a reflection of your average blood sugar level over the past three months.  For someone who doesn’t have diabetes, a normal A1C level can range from 4.5 to 6 percent.  A result between 5.7 and 6.4 percent is considered prediabetes, which indicates a high risk of developing diabetes.  My previous A1C test was 5.2 which is exactly where it needs to be.  My most recent test showed a 5.9 which indicated that I was prediabetic.  I have a strong family history of type II diabetes.  I had gestational diabetes with both pregnancies which increases my chances.  My oldest daughter Munch weighed in at 9 pounds 3 oz which is another risk factor.  I controlled my gestational diabetes with both pregnancies through diet and exercise.  My care was managed by my OB/gyn, my CDE (certified diabetes educator), and the endocrinologist. 

I knew what I needed to do to take care of myself.  I needed to eat healthier – less processed food, increase my fruit and vegetable intake and read food labels.  I was not eating my calories.  I was drinking them.  Go check out the sugar content and carbohydrates in a grande non-fat white chocolate mocha.  It is shocking to see it in print.  I was so pleased that I had given up soda.  I was merely substituting that for sugary coffee drinks. 

I also needed to move more.  When I was younger, I participated in dance, volleyball and basketball.  I love to run and ride my bike.  I needed to move more and quit making excuses for why I could not exercise.  I needed a plan and focus.  I needed to be selfish and super productive with my time.  So I have set some goals for myself: commit to at least 30 minutes of exercise five days a week and lose 7% of my current body weight.  These two goals are part of a sixteen week diabetes prevention program that I am participating in at work.  Yesterday was the first meeting, and it went surprisingly well. 

I have previously self sabotaged myself by beating myself up for every poor choice.  If I want to make permanent lifestyle changes, I need to give myself grace.  Shaming myself into being healthier will not work.  I also need to sit with my discomfort in having to track everything I eat.  I am doing the food tracking to see where I need to make better choices and be a more mindful eater.

About tranquilamama

Juggling parenthood, housework and working outside the home in the corporate world with my wonderful husband. Mom to 2 beautiful girls. PPD and PPA survivor. The title of my blog is after a phrase that was repeated to me in Spain during my semester abroad in college. It roughly translates to relax and calm down. Trying to tame my inner perfectionist and just be a good enough mom.
This entry was posted in self care and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lifestyle changes

  1. Jessica says:

    Love this. You have a great attitude going in. Hugs for the hard cause I hate food tracking! But it does help

Leave a Reply

